Wader Chaser: For the Fly-Fisherwoman

549054_4034308452160_1435500874_n

Excerpt from essay titled “Wader Chaser: Beware Before Teaching Your Girl How To Fly”…

Once a woman is equipped with the right tools and the slightest bit of assistance, it won’t be long before she becomes a fly-fishing guru and admit it or not a better fly-fisherman than you.  Because guys let’s face it.  Generally speaking, a woman makes for the ideal fly-fisherman.

For the sake of political correctness, I am not at all trying to file all women under the category of graceful, agile, smooth flowing creatures.  However, there is something to be said that women are the better-suited sex when it comes to fly-fishing.  While men tend to resort to strength, power, and force in their fishing, women are inclined to choose alternate routes of form, elegance, and grace.  When it comes to the art of fly-fishing, because that’s what it is – an art form – woman are naturally better equipped for the task.  Ask any guide or person who has taught numerous people how to fly and all will say, hands down, that women are instinctively less forceful, more graceful; and, the ideal fly-fisher.  Not to mention, superior listeners, faster learners, and all-around easier to teach…

5 responses to “Wader Chaser: For the Fly-Fisherwoman

  1. Case and point: The first Benson father-daughter fly-fishing excursion on the Big Thompson. Katy ends up with 3 brook trout and 4 brown. Dad ends up with 2 brown. He’ll claim it’s because the guide kept putting me in the better spots, or that he’s better suited to old hook and bobber fishing, or that he’s a lefty. I think the only real explanation for me besting my fisherman father is that women are just far superior…

    • Katy! I knew fly-fishing was in your blood. A natural. That reminds me, next time we are together let’s set up a fly-fishing rendezvous! Or maybe not, I can’t stand being out fished by a girl 🙂

      • Deal, but there need to be some ground rules:
        1. You give me a handicap because I have fly fished once in my life and it was 2 years ago.
        2. You can’t laugh when I hook rocks. Or when I fail to set the hook over and over.

  2. My wife out fishes me every time we get out together. Case in point, the first time I taught her how to fly cast she was doing really well, but one false cast too many though and she hooked herself in the butt. To this day I haven’t caught anything better!

Leave a Comment!